Oneonta Gorge Hike

Yesterday my friend Brooke (http://brookecaryphotography.com) and I went on a hike at Oneonta Gorge. I didn’t do much research before agreeing to go on the hike, so I didn’t really know what to expect, besides possibly having to do a bit of swimming to get to the final destination.

Turns out there is a log jam that one must climb haphazardly over after already getting wet, before even thinking of getting to the waterfall at the end of the hike. Now the hike is a short one, 1 mile roundtrip. The problem is overcoming your fear of seriously injuring yourself without looking like a coward in front of the swarms of people successfully getting across the log jam. I am proud to say I made it across the log jam without hurting myself or chickening out (on the way back there might have been a problem).

After the log jam you walk a short distance before having to re-enter the water (which came up to my shoulders), and swim to your final destination;a beautiful waterfall and a pool of water that you can swim around in. The hike was pretty magical.

Now for my return over the log jam…I thought that after going across it once that my fear of killing myself wouldn’t creep up and hinder me immobile…sadly I was mistaken. While trying to balance my way across one of the logs my mind turned against me and I started to think how irresponsible it is of me to walk across wet logs. Needless to say my inner dialogue got the best of me, which caused my anxiety to kick in, and resulted in me freezing on the log I was balancing on. I refused to move. I just stood there panic stricken, looking at Brooke waiting for some sort of guidance. I would say I was embarrassed, but I was too busy trying to remember how to breathe, walk, and get my life in order, to give a shit. Eventually I did some breathing exercise I learned, which I thought was useless before (reminder, sometimes therapists know what they are talking about), but totally came in handy while watching my life flash before my eyes. Anyways, breathing exercise + whatever the hell Brooke was saying to me got me moving again and across the log jam.

I did not die and was rewarded with a meal at Pambiche.

Heading towards the log jam. I didn't get any photos while crossing the log jam, since I value my life.

Heading towards the log jam. I didn’t get any photos while crossing the log jam, since I value my life.

Brooke Processed with VSCOcam with 4 preset

Only a short drive out of Portland and you can enjoy the wonder that is the Oneonta Gorge.

Processed with VSCOcam with 4 preset

I was lucky enough to snap a photo of a girl right when she was jumping down the waterfall.

I was lucky enough to snap a photo of a girl right when she was jumping down the waterfall.

2 thoughts on “Oneonta Gorge Hike

Leave a Reply

