Matchmaker, Matchmaker Tell My Dad He Shouldn’t Quit His Day Job

It has been two months and I am posting another update. I don’t want my four followers to get too excited now, but I think I might post more frequently (probably not). Here is my update…

  • I am back from Mexico
  • I was not married off since my last post (obviously my dowry isn’t worth much)
  • I read a couple of books
  • Made an apron
  • Started to make a bathrobe for my mom
  • My dad tried to unsuccessfully set me up on a blind date (more to come on that)
  • I ran away to Ireland for two weeks in search of a pot of gold
  • I returned from Ireland without said pot of gold

Update complete, now back to the blind date story…

Since as far back as I can remember my dad has always taught me that I don’t need a man in my life for it to be complete…then my late 20s came around and that all went to shit. I am not saying my dad thinks I need a man in my life for it to be worth something, he just lost his mind when I hit 26. Now that 29 is coming around I think the man is going into overdrive with the whole finding me a husband mission he has given himself.

At first it started off sweet and innocent with a few comments here and there. “Lala, I just found your wedding dress!” “Dad, that dress is awful.”  “Lala, I want you to meet a good man. “Ummm…weren’t we just talking about soccer?” “Yes, but I still want you to meet a good man.” “So and so would’ve been a good match for you, but he is far too old.” “Well thanks for that dead end option.” “When will your mother and I finally have grandkids?” “You do remember you have two kids right? I am not the only one.” Then my dad decided to take matters into his own hands…

“Soooooo… I have something to tell you.” “Oh man. What did you do?” “How do you feel about blind dates?” “What is happening right now? I don’t like where this is going. What did you do?” “Well, I ran into one of my old soccer players and he’s single. I think you would love him. He’s a great guy and he has his shit together.” “You still haven’t answered my question. What did you do?” “He was telling me about how he wants to meet a good woman and he’s ready to get married. So I told him I knew the PERFECT woman for him.” “You did what?” “I told him all about you!” “What does that even mean?!?!?!!!!” “I talked about how amazing you are and said he should meet you. Don’t worry. I totally talked you up. I did a great job. I even showed him a photo of you!” “How in the world did you show him a photo of me?” “I have one of you and your mom on my iPhone.” “And this is why technology should be banned from your generation. Sweet fucking hell.” “Wouldn’t it be cool if I am the one who introduces you to the man you end up marrying?” “I don’t even know how to respond to that.” “Well anyways, I told him I would ask you if I could give him your number so he can take you out. So would you be interested in going on a date with this guy?” “You realize you haven’t even told me his name, right? Not that it matters at this point. Ugh. If you want me to go out with this guy I will, but you can’t be doing stuff like this anymore.” “GREAT! I will call him right now!” “Wait, what? Calm down. You don’t need to…”

And this is when my dad walked away as I was still talking and called the guy. A little while later he came back up to me and told me that it was all taken care (awkward). Needless to say I never went on a date with the guy, let alone spoke to him. My dad was so excited about the whole thing I didn’t know how to break it to him that the guy probably agreed to the whole ordeal because they know each other. I actually left for Ireland a week after my dad tried to play matchmaker. My dad still hasn’t asked if I ever went on a date with the guy. I am hoping he forgets about it. I am scared to find out what he will do if he finds out that the guy never contacted me.

My dad is pretty great. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Matchmaker, Matchmaker Tell My Dad He Shouldn’t Quit His Day Job

Leave a Reply

